Tree Pavilion 樹下廊間

2019 May-June / Taipei City Hakka Cultural Park: artist-in-residence

In traditional Hakka culture, a huo fang (traditional Hakka home) stands for the clan cohesion to extended families by living together. In a huo fang, there is a special multi-functional room for every family to get together. This space serves as a hallway, a drawing room, a living room and even a dining room, where families gathering for dining and guests first visiting. It works as an intersection like corridor thus containing many doors and windows, but it is also a room itself.

 

The tree pavilion is inspired by such Hakka cultural space, combining with people’s common memories about social interactions under a shade tree in parks. With this installation, I wish to bring people together and create memories together under the canopy.

The canopy is 4.7 meters in diameter and 2.8 meters tall. Visitors can pass through holes on gauze curtains and resting under canopy to enjoy beautiful crochet pieces.

 

In the process of residency, visitors would see how the venue was transformed. Firstly, you would see giant gauze curtains were sewed, trimmed and decorated on site. Then the artist gradually added on textile stripes and knotted them together on the framework. Finally, audiences were invited to several co-created workshops with their old clothes and waste fabric. By crocheting leaves and fruits with family, friends and strangers, we step by step constructed tree crown together. We have brought many laughs and joyful memories under the Tree Pavilion.

Material:

textile waste, gauze, 

coffee sack, yarn, iron wire

 

↑Traditional  Taiwanese archetype courtyard house and its variations: via link

↓Perspective and plan view of a U-shaped courtyard (sanheyuan) dwelling

Both "corridor rooms" are highlighted. As an intersection area, there are many doors in a corridor room. 

tzu.fen.lin_research_Lángjiān.jpg
 

The most unique space in a "huo fang": a corridor room ("lang jian")

 

In traditional Hakka culture in Taiwan, huo fang (traditional Hakka home) is a collective building with ancestral shrine in the center and co-living extended families besides. Families of the same clan often live, cook and eat together in huo fang. A huo fang was built not only to worship ancestors and defend against outsider, but to gather clan cohesion and to engage in mutual support. It could be expanded from basic I-shaped to L-shaped, U-shaped and quadrangle shape dwellings.

 

Hoklo style and Hakka style of vernacular dwellings look similar. However, there is unique multi-functional room in a Hakka courtyard dwelling. It is called lang jian (corridor room) due to it functions as both corridor and a room. Located at the corner area of a U-shaped building, a corridor room is a sociable public space as a living room and a dining room for every family in huo fang. When there is a guest calling on, a corridor room serves as a drawing room where a guest should firstly visit. 

 

A semi-public place where people meet up and make friendly contacts.

 

Since a corridor room links to the front yard and back yard, kitchen, family rooms and the ancestral shrine, it contains several doors and window. A Corridor room is an important gathering space to enhance clan cohesiveness for families in traditional Hakka culture.

 

Collective memories under a shade tree in a park

Even though we live in a rapidly changing sociality, most of people would have a deja vu feeling when sitting under a tree no matter when you see kids chasing, woman gossiping or the elders chatting and playing Chinese chess. Most of us share common memories about social interaction we had under a tree in our childhood or around neighbourhoods.

 

One of the reasons is because that a tree is pretty common for us to see and touch in urban city, representing relationship connected with the mother nature. The other main reason is that humans are by nature social animals. We tend to naturally seek the companionship of others and we humans eventually need other humans to survive. It happens naturally to remember how many joyful memories we shared under those branches.

 

Co-created Workshops: crocheting leaves and fruits for the Tree Pavilion

Several workshop was held around this space. Audience were asked to bring their waste clothes and fabric. I taught them to cut those fabrics into stripes and to make round crochet leaves pieces. Hand-making and Co-creating brought people together and closer. There were nearly 100 people involved in the crochet canopy making process. It took about two weeks to make more than 200 pieces of crochet leaves and 34 crochet fruit balls. I've seen groups of parent-kid, sisters, family creating lovely memories under the canopy. Thanks to all the participants, we truly had great time here. 

This installation not only activated this public space, but engaged more younger people to come and learn about traditional Hakka's culture. During the 33-day residency in the village, this tree-like intervention activated both people and the venue, bringing more social interactions in the building.

Special thanks to Yee Chain / Martin for industrial textile waste!

 

Audience at the scene

Many groups from schools and couples of parent-kid have come under the canopy. There was even a concert held next to the pavilion. Under this dreamy canopy, many good memories have been made ever since.

Special thanks:

 

  • Textile Waste:Yee Chain / Martin

  • Sewing machine:Fay Yang

  • Assistance:Mina Lu、Jeff Lin、季樺、Dora、周學涵、麗慧、宜靜、阿宛、斌斌、茅姊、詩樺、思緯、Nana、小O、寶琴、Jessie Yang

  • Workshop participants:Amy、Camille Liu、Tori Yang、Summer Ann、永蓓、Enggie Ku、Weiping Yang凱如一家人、Sophie S. Lien Hung、Rachel Liao、庭如、曉英、玫嬌、Chunny Wang、海明、婉如、育妡、怜華、Evyon Liao、依婷、Miama Ho、志菁、柏容、維婷、玉梅、儷馨、kindergarten teachers( 世娟、貞貞、雅雅、小花、佳佳、飯糰、曉璇、小燕、文婷、淑鈺、曼曼、田田、學巖、毛毛蟲、小喵、含香、Sammy、珈珈、均汝、采凌、拉拉、Susan、媛媛、曼曼、珮珮、雯玲、咅咅、綺綺、敏敏、佳惠、段段)

  • Whoever supply us with waste clothes, fabric and whoever crochet with us together

  • Taipei City Hakka Cultural Center. 薏雯​、Mr.Peng、Cleaning lady

TzuFenLin_logo_edith_2.png

Tree Pavilion 樹下廊間

2019 May-June / 

客家文化主題公園 藝術進駐

靈感來自客家『夥房』最具人情味的空間:『廊間』,是凝聚聚客家宗族力量的重要生活交際空間、必經之穿廊,亦兼具家內客廳與餐廳等群聚生活核心。

 

設計以黑柱為圓心、大樹下為寓意,希望以此裝置,帶來人們在文化中心的交流互動。觀者於此場景中穿梭、停留、休憩、聚集,宛如「廊間」般的存在。外圍以半透明布幕隔出直徑4.7 公尺的白色空間,圍出『廊間』的嶄新想像,像是穿廊、亦像是個半開放的房間。

 

進駐過程中在空間中逐步完成車縫帷幕、挖門開窗、梯上編織,亦於樹下廊間舉辦民眾共創工作坊,將廢布衣裁成布條,編織葉子與果子,妝點大樹,一同創造並美化「公共空間」。 佈展期間現場宛如真實的廊間,不僅創造人與人的互動、手做交流、更是親子與朋友們一同創造美好回憶的所在。

#樹下廊間 #共創 #客家文化主題公園

材質:

工廠廢布、紗網、麻布袋、舊衣服、毛線、金屬線

 

↑台灣傳統建築的型態 via link

↓為三合院的立體與平面圖,紅圈與黃標處為「廊間」位置,右圖可見其門之多。

 

創作主題:客家建築的特殊文化空間「廊間」

在傳統的客家文化中,集宗祠與居住功能的建築稱之為『伙房』,以祭祀祖先為核心,同祖先的親族一起開伙聚居,具有防禦、互相扶持和凝聚宗族的功能。型態有一條龍、單伸手、三合院、四合院,乃至於少數龐大家族共同居住的多護龍合院、圍龍屋等。

 

此外『廊間』尤其是南部客家建築的特色,位於祭祀祖先的正身和橫屋房間的垂直交接處(上圖紅圈標記處),存在一個像是交誼廳的公共休閒空間,除了供各戶人家聚集交流、亦為招待聽與飯廳,當客人登門拜訪,必須先到廊間打聲招呼。

 

廊間是凝聚人情感的公共空間,也是夥房的生活交際中心:飯廳、交誼廳、客廳

廊間相當開放、四通八達、可通前院後院、廚房臥房和祖堂,因其門特別多,有三間八門之稱。除此之外南部的建築採外廊形式,每間房間為獨立不能互通,以保留每戶的私領域。

 

『廊間』是凝聚客家宗族力量的重要生活交際空間、是必經之穿廊,兼具家內客廳與餐廳等群聚生活核心,也是公私領域的過度空間。

社區鄰里的共同記憶:公園大樹下

​大樹則是無論閩南、客家文化中很常見的共同回憶,人與人的情感交流、社群互動等,生活中有無數的日常片段和故事在此發生,也往往是地方鄰里的集會地點,無論男女老少於此處吃飯、喝茶、下棋、躲貓貓,人的交流往往依傍著某棵充滿回憶的大樹。

 

共創:樹葉圓片、樹果舊衣改造工作坊

期間於場內開設編織工作坊,教眾人裁減家中舊衣物、搭配毛線鉤織成圓片,共4 場工作坊和平日的自願參與,累積將近100 人的參與和幫忙,從募集而來的舊衣廢布, 到總共製作出200 多片樹葉圓片、 34 個樹果的參與,約莫兩週的製作期,創造親子、姐妹、 家人朋友間的無數互動,樹下廊間是眾人的廊間,串起人們的雙手與心意,累積不少編織的回憶。

不僅推動年輕一輩走入園區,深入瞭解客家文化 客家建築特色文化推廣,並透過工作坊民眾協力完成,凝聚參與和認同感 ·。實際上促進了中庭的空間活化。33天的駐村期間,樹下廊間以編織藝術裝置活化人與空間,喚起人與人聚集互動交流。

特別感謝由鎰呈行提供的工業廢布!

 

民眾互動記錄

樹下廊間在完成裝置後,陸陸續續有學校團體、家庭等參觀,甚至在一旁舉辦音樂表演,如夢似幻的紗下,有越來越多人在此坐下感受這棵眾人共創、共享的大樹。

特別感謝:

 

  • 工業廢布、樣布:鎰呈行 / Martin

  • 車縫機:Fay Yang

  • 人力協助:Mina Lu、Jeff Lin、季樺、Dora、周學涵、麗慧、宜靜、阿宛、斌斌、茅姊、詩樺、思緯、Nana、小O、寶琴、Jessie Yang

  • 工作坊參與者:Amy、Camille Liu、Tori Yang、Summer Ann、周永蓓、Enggie Ku、Weiping Yang凱如一家人、Sophie S. Lien Hung、Rachel Liao、庭如、曉英、玫嬌、Chunny Wang、海明、婉如、育妡、怜華、Evyon Liao、依婷、Miama Ho、志菁、柏容、維婷、玉梅、儷馨陳世娟園長與其帶來的眾位幼稚園老師(貞貞、雅雅、小花、佳佳、飯糰、曉璇、小燕、文婷、淑鈺、曼曼、田田、學巖、毛毛蟲、小喵、含香、Sammy、珈珈、均汝、采凌、拉拉、Susan、媛媛、曼曼、珮珮、雯玲、咅咅、綺綺、敏敏、佳惠、段段)

  • 所有提供舊衣廢布的朋友和一同動手鉤鉤的朋友

  • 客家文化主題公園 文化中心 林薏雯​、保全大哥彭組長、清掃大姐

 © 2019 by Tzu Fen Lin  created with Wix.com

TzuFenLin_logo_edith_2.png
TzuFenLin_logo_TzuFenLin.png